Tip 726: Outlook 2010: Prompt before deleting

Outlook 2010 Beta has a bug in the 'prompt before deleting' checkbox - deselecting the checkbox at Options, Advanced, Prompt for confirmation before deleting doesn't actually work and you’ll still be prompted. It's fixed in later builds but until then, users can edit the registry to disable the prompt.

At Start menu, Search field or Run command, type regedit and browse to the following key and create the WarnDelete value.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Outlook\Options\General
DWORD: WarnDelete
Value: 1 (checked) or 0 (unchecked)

Published March 26, 2010. Last reviewed on June 1, 2014.

  • rs

    I have the opposite problem. I WANT Outlook to prompt me before permanently deleting when I exit (because I may suddenly want to retrieve something), I marked the relevant box, but it has suddenly stopped asking, and I have to manually delete from the Delete box.

  • D Poremsky

    Which version of Outlook are you using? Are all updates installed?