Did you receive an email from Microsoft that your account was going to be closed and wonder if the message was real or a phishing attempt?
Yes, it might be real, especially if you haven't logged into the account in 2 years. But hackers will also send these emails, in a phishing attempt to get your log in details. So, when you get a message do not click the link in the message. Open the browser and go account.microsoft.com. I recommend using a private browser window, so you don't log into the wrong account (that is not being closed.)
You can ignore the message and let the account close, but if you are using it as a recovery address for a web site or service, you won't be able recover the account. Once an address is deleted, it can never be used again.
This is the message I received. The email address is in the form of ab***c@, so you may not remember what the address was. It took me a while to figure out what this was, and at first thought it was used to log into a computer. My immediate thought was "phishing attempt" but when I checked the address on that computer, the second letter was different.
Turns out it was an address I forgot about. I should have let it close since I don't use it or need it, but it was a good opportunity to get screenshots.
From: Microsoft account team <email@example.com>
Sent: Monday, May 1, 2023 6:34 AM
To: Diane Poremsky <me@>
Subject: Microsoft account security notification
Your account is set to close on 6/30/2023
Your account firstname.lastname@example.org is scheduled to be closed on 6/30/2023 due to account inactivity. Once your account is closed it will be deleted in accordance with the Microsoft Services Agreement.
If you want to keep your account, just sign in between now and 6/30/2023. All your files, data and info will be just as you left them until then.
To learn more, click here.
The Microsoft account team
I opened a private browser window and typed account.microsoft.com in the address bar then tried to log in, finally successful with the third password I tried. After sending a text to my phone to prove I was a real person, I reopened the account.
And now that it is open, it will probably sit unused for another two years.